By Henry Musabe.

Mbarara City Football Club and KCC FC midfielders Ivan Eyam and Andrew Kawooya have been recalled to the Uganda Hippos squad.

Surprisingly, Uganda Hippos head coach Morley Byekwaso dropped the Uganda premier league duo for academy players for the AFCON qualifiers that were held earlier in Tanzania.

Davis Sekajja- Bright Stars FC is another return also dropped from the qualifiers’ sqaud.

KCCA FC inform striker Samuel Senyonjo and Police’s Derrick Kakooza are other UPL big names named in the Hippos squad.

Enterprising forward Alou John Kokas has also been handed an opportunity to represent his country months after being promoted to URA FC senior team.

In the squad, the technical team has also named two UK based lads Kitaka Samuel Moses (Loughborough University) and Odokonyero Nathan (Lincoln City) aming the new faces.

The summoned 38 players are to begin preparations for the Total AFCON U20 Final tournament in Mauritania running from February 14th – 6th March 2021.

The players and officials will report for official camping on Wednesday 20th January 2021 and will reside at the Cranes Paradise Hotel in Kisaasi.

According to, the squad also has Bobosi Byaruhanga and Abdul Aziizi Kayondo currently on duty with the Uganda Cranes CHAN Team in Cameroon. They will join the haha hi depending on Uganda’s performance at the tournament.
Meanwhile, official training starts on Thursday evening at the Omondi Stadium in Lugogo – Kampala.

This is the first ever Uganda Hippos engagement in the AFCON U20 Finals after emerging champions of the CECAFA Regional Qualifiers in December 2020.

Uganda Hippos emerged champions of the CECAFA Regional Qualifiers in December 2020. PHOTO | Courtesy
Uganda Hippos emerged champions of the CECAFA Regional Qualifiers in December 2020. PHOTO | Courtesy

Provisional U-20 squad.

Goal keepers

Komakech Jack (Ascent SA), Kiberu Ronald (Synergy FC), Oyo Delton (Busoga United FC), Ssenyondwa Denis Kaala (SC Villa), Ochama Daniel (Boro Boro Super Sport FC), Kato Peter (Super Cubs FC)


Kizito Mugweri Gavin (SC Villa), Semakula Kenneth (Busoga United FC), Kayondo Abdu Aziizi (Vipers SC), Musa Ramathan (KCCA FC) Kafumbe Joseph (KCCA FC), Kitabalwa Robert (Vipers SC), Begesa UPDF FC), Baligeya Simon (Kibuli SS), Bbosa Richard (Express FC).


Mugulusi Isma (Busoga United FC), Yiga Najib (Vipers SC), Sserwadda Steven (KCCA FC), Byaruhanga Bobosi  (Vipers SC), Lutalo Umar (Aspire Academy), Alou John Kokas (URA FC), Okur Swamadu (Kataka FC), Eyamu Ivan (Mbarara City FC), Kawooya Andrew( KCCA FC), Asaba Ivan (Vipers SC), Ssekajja Davis (Bright Stars FC), Wabyoona Faisal  (Big Talent SA).


Bogere Ivan (Proline FC), Ssenyonjo Samuel (KCCA FC), Kakooza Derrick (Police FC), Basangwa Richard (Vipers SC), Odokonyero Nathan (Lincoln City FC U18-UK), Kitaka Samuel Moses (Loughborough University-UK), Bukenya Joseph Kizza (KCCA FC), Onyai Raymond (Mbarara City FC), Mulindi Ashiraf  (Kataka FC), Mukisa Emmanuel (Kataka FC), Ssali Alpha Thierry (Proline FC).


Byekwaso Morley  – Head Coach

Masaba Simeon – Assistant Head Coach

Kiggundu Steven Billy  – Goalkeeping Coach

Katumba Yahaya –  Doctor

Mutyaba Bashir – Team Manager

Kasirye Alex – Team Media Officer

Bumpenje Frank – Kits Manager

(Visited 9 times, 1 visits today)

By gugudde

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *