Kenyan flags raised by funs.

General elections in Kenya are held every after 5 years according to the country’s constitution. The elections involve the president, members of assembly and senate, county governors of Kenya and members of the 47 county assemblies of Kenya.

As the eyes of all Kenyans are on the presidential elections, the candidates are not new to the ballot. William Ruto, former Kenyan Deputy President and On 15 March 2022, Ruto was endorsed by United Democratic Alliance – Kenya (UDA) as the party’s presidential candidate for Kenya’s presidential elections;  His running mate Raila Odinga has contested the presidential election four times and also is a former prime minister of Kenya.

The presidential election happening today the 9th August, 2022 did not leave the incumbent president – Uhuru Kenyatta a chance to compete since by Kenyan constitution, he is ineligible. Due to the two term limit in the Kenyan constitution .

The county governors who have served two terms at their respective counties also are ineligible for another term.

The president of Kenya is elected using a modified version of the two -round system. To win in the first round, a candidate must receive over 50% of the vote and at least 25% of the vote in a minimum of 24 of the 47 counties.

William Ruto – incumbent Deputy President, presidential candidate


Raila Odinga – former prime minister of Kenya, presidential candidate.


Courtesy photo.

(Visited 13 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *